Athens Digest 28.08.2018 (breaking news)

PM Tsipras keeps bailout-era ministers in Cabinet reshuffle

• Euclid Tsakalotos has retained his post as finance minister in a Cabinet reshuffle that saw Prime Minister Tsipras hold on to bailout-era ministers and bring in politicians from outside the ruling party. Alt. Minister George Chouliarakis also keeps his position.

• Ministers of Defence, Foreign Affairs, Labor, Energy, Transportation, Health and Migration keep their positions, too.

• Alexis Charitsis leaves the Ministry of Economy and Development, to become the new Minister of Interior.

• Mariliza Xenogiannakopoulou (a prominent member of a previous PASOK government in 2009-10) is the new Minister of Administrative Reform as Olga Gerovassili moves to the Civil Protection Ministry.

The new cabinet:

Prime Minister
Alexis Tsipras

Deputy Prime Minister
Yannis Dragasakis

Ministry of Interior
Minister: Alexandros Charitsis
Deputy Minister: Marina Chrysoveloni
Deputy Minister of Macedonia/Thrace: Katerina Notopoulou

Civil Protection Ministry
Minister: Olga Gerovassilis
Deputy Minister: Katerina Papakosta

Ministry of Economy and Development
Minister: Yiannis Dragasakis
Alternate Minister for Industry: Stergios Pitsiorlas
Deputy Minister: Stathis Giannakidis

Ministry of Digital Policy, Telecommunications and Information
Minister: Nikos Pappas
Deputy Minister: Lefteris Kretsos

Ministry of Defence
Minister: Panos Kammenos
Alternate Minister: Panagiotis Rigas
Deputy Minister: Maria Kollia Tsaroucha

Ministry of Education, Research and Religious Affairs
Minister: Kostas Gavroglou
Alternate Minister for Research and Innovation: Kostas Fotakis
Deputy Minister: Meropi Tzoufi

Ministry of Labour, Social Security and Social Solidarity
Minister: Effie Achtsioglou
Alternate Minister of Social Solidarity: Theano Fotiou
Deputy Minister of Labor: Anastasios Petropoulos
Deputy Minister for Social Security: Athanasios Iliopoulos

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Minister: Nikos Kotzias
Alternate Minister for European Affairs: Giorgos Katrougalos
Deputy Minister for Religious Affairs: Markos Bolaris
Deputy Minister responsible for Greeks Abroad: Terens – Spencer Quix

Ministry of Justice, Transparency and Human Rights
Minister: Michalis Kalogirou
Alternate Minister for Corruption: Dimitris Papagelopoulos

Ministry of Finance
Minister: Euclid Tsakalotos
Alternate Minister: Giorgos Chouliarakis
Deputy Minister: Katerina Papanatsiou

Ministry of Health
Minister: Andreas Xanthos
Alternate Minister: Pavlos Polakis

Ministry of Administrative Reform
Minister: Mariliza Xenogiannakopoulou

Ministry of Culture and Sports
Minister: Myrsini Zorba
Deputy Minister of Sports: Giorgos Vassiliadis
Deputy Minister: Konstantinos Stratis

Ministry of Environment and Energy
Minister: Giorgos Stathakis
Alternate Minister: Socrates Famelos
Deputy Minister: Giorgos Dimaras

Ministry of Infrastructure and Transport
Minister: Christos Spirtzis
Deputy Minister: Nikos Mavraganis

Ministry of Immigration Policy
Minister: Dimitris Vitsas

Ministry of Shipping and Island Policy
Minister: Fotis Kouvelis
Alternate Minister: Nektarios Santorinios

Ministry of Rural Development and Food
Minister: Stavros Arachovitis
Deputy Minister: Vassilis Kokkalis
Deputy Minister: Olympia Telianidou

Ministry of Tourism
Minister: Elena Kountoura

Minister of State with for Citizens’ Quality of Life
Alekos Flambouraris

Minister of State responsible for Government Co-ordination:
Christoforos Vernardakis

Minister of State and Government Spokesperson
Dimitris Tzanakopoulos

State Secretary to the Prime Minister
Dimitris Liakos

The new Secretary General of the Government
Akritas Kaidatzis